Monday, June 29, 2015

Monday Happies: PIZZA

Happy Monday! 

In the spirit of continuing to find things to be happy about, I am about to share with you and awesome vegan pizza recipe. But first, can I please just rant for a moment? It has to do with watching television - something that I do far too often than I'd like to admit. I mean...I watch A LOT of television. It is a product of being unemployed and not having a desk to work at. I sit on the couch while working on my thesis all  day, and it is just too easy to turn on Netflix and power watch six seasons of Family Guy in one sitting. ...

The thing that gets me really riled up, though, is ease with which our culture throws around racism, sexist and speciesism. Given that the average North American probably watches about the same amount of television as I do, it sort of freaks me out that swathes of uncritical people are absorbing all this negative, bullshit information on the reg. It is presented in these seemingly innocuous ways - a funny character wearing a poncho, a joke about women being passive aggressive, the off-hand comment  about non-hunters being sissies. But even when it is done ironically, I don't think that the average television watcher gets  the irony. 

I know I can just turn off the television, and there is obviously a deeper problem here for me in terms of my obvious addiction to technology, but this doesn't take away the fact that I find myself constantly wincing, and actually just genuinely feeling like crap when I watch shows like American Dad when Stan casually murders dear, or a raccoon, or whatever he kills in whatever episode; or when I watch a show like Raising Hope, which is generally a pretty funny show, but has an entire episode where they raise and learn to love a pig, and then eat him. 

Watching crap like this kind of makes me understand why it is so hard to make the decision to go vegan, or even see veganism as a valid lifestyle choice. We are constantly told by television and other media that eating animals, degrading women, and making racist jokes are completely normal and actually not that harmful - especially if presented humorously. But humour is powerful and dangerous because behind this type of humour are messages of hate. When I see my young niece imitating television characters, or my friends' kids laughing at jokes told in racist faux Chinese accents I can't help but feel a little like a tiny ant trying to knock down a mountain of  hate.  I feel a little  hopeless. 

But, then I see some of the awesome vegans out there crusading for a better world, and I see that it really isn't all that hopeless. Media presents a skewed vision of the world in which we live, and while it has a huge  influence, it obviously doesn't ensnare us all in its shitty, hate-trap. 

So, I'm going to really work on switching off the television, and spending more time with my animal friends, and my awesome vegan boyfriend. 

Anyway, that is my little rant. And now for those Monday Happies I promised! I know that I shared a recipe already on Friday, but I had to share this  one too, and what is better than pizza to chase those Monday blues away? 

VOMD and I don't eat pizza very often. There is a Pita Pizza down the street that makes this awesome vegan falafel pizza, but other than that, we tend to go for sushi or Indian food before we go for  pizza. But  I had a huge craving last week and didn't really feel like spending money, so I decided to work with what we had at home. This is what I came up with!

The dough recipe I use is exactly the same as the one I learned from my mom's partner when I was a kid,  with a few minor changes. First, I use mostly whole wheat flour; second, I used maple syrup instead of sugar;  and third, its all about the pizza stone! 

 It's a pretty simple recipe. You should grab 2 big mixing bowls before you begin.

Ingredients:
2  cups of whole wheat flour
1 2/3 cup  of white flour
1/4 tsp salt
11/2 cups of VERY warm water (NOT HOT)
1 tsp maple  syrup
1 tbsp of active dry yeast
2 tbsp olive oil

You start by prepping your yeast. Put  the yeast in a large bowl and stir in maple syrop and warm water. Stir lightly and let sit until it gets all foamy on top. While the yeast is doing it's thing mix the whole wheat flour, salt, and  1 1/3 cups of white flour together (save 1/3 for later).

Once the yeast mixture is foamy, start adding the dry ingredients, and the oil, to the wet and once it gets too thick to stir, get your hands in there.


Once it is all combine, turn the dough onto a floured surface (floured with that extra 1/3 of white flour we set aside earlier). Kneed the dough for about 8-10 minutes until you have a nice stretchy firm ball and you can see some little puffs beneath the surface. Place in an oiled bowl, ans swish around until the ball of dough is coated. This will stop it from sticking. Cover with a clean, lightly dampened cloth in a warm place (like by a sun-lit window in the summer, or in an oven with the light on in winter). Let it rise until double it's size (about an hour or so).

Once risen, punch it down and break into 2 pieces. Kneed very lightly and form 2 balls. Cover lightly with that damp towel again and let rise until these pieces are doubled.

While that is rising(which should take about 40-45 minutes) you should start preheating your oven  if you are using a pizza stone. If not, wait a bit to conserve energy.

AND while the oven is heating up, start making your sauce.
Bruschetta Style Pizza Sauce (you will have leftovers, so plan to have bruschetta bread tomorrow! Just add a little olive oil, some chopped parsley, and a little splash of red wine vinegar to brighten it up)
Ingredients:
1 large onion, quartered
5 cloves or garlic (or  more or less, depending on your taste
1 large can of diced tomatoes (unsalted)
1 palm full of basil
1 hand full  of nutritional yeast
A dash of salt and pepper to taste

Put  the onion and garlic in the food processor and pulse until finely diced. Then add all other ingredients. Process until saucy (see picture).

Set that sauce aside and start chopping veggies and shredding your vegan cheese, if you want that. We  used tomatoes, mushrooms, zucchini and red peppers. Leggo was supervising. I find I always cook best under her watchful eye. Once the dough is risen,  roll it out until its as thin as you like (VOMD likes thin, crunchy crust, so I make it really thin, about 1/3 inch) And lay on a pan with parchment paper. If you don't want the sauce soaking into the crust, brush the crust lightly with olive oil before putting anything on it. Then, sauce it  up, lay out your veggies and toss some cheese or nutritional yeast on top. We put nutritional yeast on one  and Vegan Gourmet mozzarella cheese on the other.

Then pop those suckers in the oven. After about 3  or four minutes, the pizza will be firmed up enough to slide it off the pan (using the parchment paper) and then pull the paper out so it is resting on your pizza stone. DO NOT DO THIS WITHOUT A STONE. It will be messy. Duh.


Let it cook for between 12-18 minutes (it depends on how your oven works, whether you have a stone, and how crusty you like it)

Then consume! My camera battery died before I could take the final pictures, so the last ones there are taken with my phone. Deal with it.

Happy vegan pizza eating!


-J

Friday, June 26, 2015

Friday Foodie: Mushrooms, Taters, Carrots and Cauliflower

Good Morning!

Let me preface this post by saying that I am obviously not a food blogger, nor am I a very good photographer. I'm trying to work on that because VOMD bought me a pretty awesome camera and I want to put it to good use, but I think that I might just not have the  eye for photography. Maybe I need to get a photo editing program or something. If you have any suggestions, please share! Nonetheless, I wanted to start sharing some of the delicious vegan food that we eat around here.

So, I thought I would start sharing at least one meal/recipe a week to show the amazing yummies that VOMD and I eat. One of our dinners this week was a take on your standard 'meat' and potatoes meal, but with an obvious twist. It's not the prettiest,  but it is soooooo good.

Stuffed Portabello Mushrooms, Creamy Mashed Taters, BBQ Cauliflower 'Steak' and Maple Braised Carrots!

Also, portion control is for chumps. 

Here's how you do it: WARNING I like to wing it, so when it comes to measurements, sometimes things get a bit  weird. Just go with it.

Hummus Stuffed Portabello Mushrooms
Ingredients 
2 large portabello mushrooms (get ones with big stems)
1/4 cup (or just like...a couple scoops) home made garlic hummus (I'll post that recipe some  time, but you can just used store bought...or wing it)
1 medium onion,  diced
1 handful (or so) nutritional yeast
A dash of organic basil (it just tastes better)
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Diced the stems of the  portabellos and fry the heck out  of them and the onions in a cast iron pan. Cast iron is the shit because if properly seasoned (google  that)  it is naturally non-stick. Also,  cast iron pans will stay usable for the rest of your life, and  beyond! Then add  the basil, salt and pepper.  Add the hummus and nutritional yeast and mix up. Then, scoop that  crap onto your mushrooms (smooth side  down, of course) and place on an oven-safe pan. If you  want the top super crispy, mix some crushed organic corn flakes with nutritional yeast, garlic  powder, and a little bit of salt, and put on top.  Bake for about 15 minutes (or longer, depending on the size of your mushrooms). They should be tender and juicy when ready.

Creamy Mashed Potatoes 
Ingredients (makes 2 huge servings with some leftovers for breakfast)
About 8 medium sized white potatoes, peeled and cut into cubes (about 4 cups all cut up?) (it really depends on the size you have) 
2 scoops of vegan mayonnaise (we use Vegenaise in this house, but  use your favourite) 
A splash of unsweetened almond milk (or  whatever milk alternative  you like)
Garlic powder to taste
Salt and pepper to taste

Boil potatoes until a fork slides through  easily. Drain water (you can use this for soup or gravy, if you're doing that, so don't waste it if you  don't need to). Add vegenaise and almond milk and mash it all to hell with a masher. If you have a hand mixer you  can use  that too, but don't mix too much or it will get all gluey.  Nobody likes gluey taters. Stir in salt,  pepper and garlic powder to taste. I like mine really peppery, but go with your own taste buds. To make  them super awesome, put them in a cast iron pan or other over safe dish and broil in the oven for a few minutes until the top is golden and beautiful like the ones above!  

BBQ Cauliflower "Steak"
Ingredients

1 head of cauliflower (you're not going to use  it all, but start with a whole one  to get the best "steaks")
Your favourite BBQ sauce (I'll share my recipe some time, but  for now, go with what you like best)
A little olive oil 
A little sriracha sauce (to give it a little extra kick) 
Salt and pepper to taste (if your BBQ sauce is missing a little)

Preheat oven 400 degrees (you're already doing this for the mushrooms anyway, right?). Slice cauliflower into thick slices, through the core  so taht you end  up with three or four slabs. You will have some extras that break off and aren't "steaky", so put that back in the fridge or throw it into a bag in the freezer to make soup or something like that. Put a little oil on a pan  and place those suckers on the oil. Wiggle them around a bit, and flip so that both sides are a little oily. Slather as much BBQ sauce as you want on them (I don't use a ton, but it's  really up to you) and then, if you want, squirt some lines of sriracha on there too. Sprinkle a pinch of pepper on each,  and maybe some salt, and throw in the oven for about 15-20 minutes (depending on the size). They should be forkable when done, but not mushy.  

Cheaters Maple Braised Carrots (its cheating because its not actually braised)
Ingredients
About 3 large carrots, sliced into "dollars" (about 2 cups...or something)
A glug of maple syrup (maybe three tablespoons)
A little (or big) scoop of vegan butter substitute (like  vegan Becel, or Earth Balance). I only use about a table spoon. 
Salt and pepper  to taste
A sprig of Rosemary 

Boil carrots until just slightly forkable. Drain the water (or use for that  soup you're planning) and  put back into the still hot pot on the still on element. Add syrup, vegan butter, Rosemary and a little salt and pepper, stir, and let bubble a bit until really forkable. Then serve! (you can put  that used rosemary sprig in your soup base too, if you want!)

Ta da!

Happy Friday!

-J

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Being Vegan is more fun with friends! (Vegan Resources)

Good Morning Herbivores (and everyone else),

Sometimes it is hard to be vegan. The choice  to not consume non-human animals and products made from their fluids is one that none of us take lightly. If you are the only one of your friends, or the only in your family who has made  the decision to be vegan, being vegan can get incredibly lonely. And even when you do have a decent support  group of fellow vegans and family members who share your lifestyle (or at least support you in your lifestyle choice) being vegan can be a marginalizing. Honestly, begin vegan is  just more fun with friends! I can't tell you how much I have struggled with being vegan, especially when I was dating a carnist! But now, with VOMD, things are amazing. I'm not trying to brag or  anything, but having a boyfriend that not only gets it but lives it is AMAZING!

Here are some resources that you might find helpful on your journey.

If you are feeling down and want to get away from it all and surround yourself with amazing animal friends and like minded humans for a while, check out Piebird Vegan Farm Sactuary and FarmStay: www.piebird.ca

If you want to learn about how to become a vegan, check out The Vegan Starter Kit: www.vegankit.com/be It's a super helpful little place to learn the basics of going vegan (and why it is so important to do so).

If you want a little cheering up, check out this new page on Facebook (created by my sister  and one of her best friends!) called Dear Vegans: www.facebook.com/DearVegans

This is a new page, but it is seriously adorable, and just makes you feel good about your choices. Sometimes as vegans we need to be reminded that we are literally saving the world. You're all superheroes! And seriously, isn't her art just cute as all damn hell?

facebook.com/DearVegans


If you prefer to consume knowledge in video form, check out the Bite Sized Vegan or The Vegan Zombie on youtube. One will give you knowledge, the other will give you yummies.

If you live in the GTA, check out the Toronto Vegetarian Association  website to  find veggie resources in the  area including restaurants, events and more: www.veg.ca

If you're a struggling vegan  in the GTA, visit the Toronto Vegetarian Food Bankwww.tvfb.ca

Its easy to be vegan if your  surround yourself with the right type of people and take advantage of the resources that are available to you. If all else fails, convert a friend! ...the trick is to tell them its going to make them skinny and then BAM they're saving animals and don't even know it.


It's also super easy when you have cute bunnies around! Here's Tobi discovering her new toy. Look at that face! How could you hurt anything so f#cking precious?


Good luck on your journey, Herbivores!

Happy Thursday!

-J

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Books for people who give a shit about animals Part 1: Zoopolis

Good Morning! 

So, even though I am supposed to be working on my thesis, and all my time is meant to be earmarked for reading things like Queering Bathrooms and The Location of Culture I just can't stop myself from opening up some of my old faithfuls now and again. There is nothing better to do in the morning than brew a fresh pot of coffee and sit back with a thought provoking book - something to really get those brain juices flowing. 





If you're looking for a book that will get you thinking (and will probably strike up some epic debates in your household), read Zoopolis. It's written by Sue Donaldson and Will Kymlicka. Will Kymlicka is an amazing Canadian political philosopher out of Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, and while I am not on board with everything in this book, it presents animal rights, and animal issues in a whole new, politically important light. Rather than appealing only the mushy mushy stuff that a lot of ethical animal theory does, this book calls on us to view animals in three interesting new ways: domesticated animals as citizens; wild animals as sovereign; and liminal animals as denizens (pigeons, squirrels etc.). This would change A LOT. It would mean that domestic animals would have the right to share in public spaces, and it would also meant that harming a domestic animal would result in criminal charges, as with any other citizen, while wild animals would be allowed to live our their sovereignty - Sovereignty being  “a form of protection against external threats of annihilation, exploitation, or assimilation". Meanwhile liminal animals like squirrels and so forth that are normally seen as pests, would be given the right to live among up, rather than being subjected to mass extermination campaigns.

They present some damn good arguments against animal abuse and subjugation,  but what is really great about this book is the completely unique way that they understand animal life as politically important. Traditional Animal Rights Theory tends to ignore liminal animals altogether, and to advocate for the "live and let live" approach to wild animals. As for domestic animals, traditional ART tends to advocate for an approach to domestic animals that would lead to the annihilation of domestic species altogether in the long run. Donaldson and Kymlicka, on the other hand, are not your standard "Spay and Neuter Your Pets"  cheerleaders. Rather, they claim that these people do not take "seriously the legitimate interests of domesticated animals” by forcing them “not to reproduce." This is something that I had previously never considered, as a strong advocate for spaying and neutering my animal friends so that they do not have to go through the pains associated with bearing children and  raising them in the wild were they to run away and become pregnant. In the case of my rabbit friends, spaying was the healthy option for an animal that is at a high risk for uterine cancer if unbred after a certain age. They encourage readers to "experiment and learn about what animals would do if given greater control over their lives", an experiment that I am hesitant to start,  for fear of the ethical implications. But perhaps they are right that the domination and paternalistic attitude we have towards non-human reproduction is deeply problematic. When it comes down to it,  I am now not sure where  I stand on the spay and neuter issue.  As a  piece of socially directed political theory, this work has done its job - I predict a tonne of excellent debates in vegan circles over this issue stemming from Donaldson and Kymlicka's work in this book.

If you  give  a shit about animals, then this book will definitely give you something to think  about. If you don't  want to take this too seriously, and just came here to see a cute animal picture, here's one of George sitting like a person.



Happy Wednesday!

-J

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

A weekend full of free fun and waterfalls!

Hey!

So, I completely forgot to share the amazingness of this past weekend. We aren't exactly weathly, but this doesnt mean we don't go on awesome adventures. This summer we are taking it upon ourselves to find as many free fun things to do in  the city and surrounding areas. On the 13th we went to Veggie Fest Hamilton (last year we - VOMD and I - went to Veggie Fest as our first trip together, so it was nostalgic and romantic), and this weekend we decided to spend all out time outside. VOMD and I went to Tews Falls on Saturday and hiked down a precarious mountain to get to the bottom. There were ropes, so it wasn't really too scary, but  I will say that my choice of footwear was ill conceived. Don't climb a cliff in flip flops. You will hurt yourself.

Here's the view from the top! It's so beautiful. VOMD says it reminds him of a tiny Angel Falls. Hamilton is known as the Waterfall City. There are more than 100 waterfalls in Hamilton and the surrounding areas. Our goal is to see as many as we can this summer.

Tews falls are 41 metres tall and are the tallest falls in the area. A bunch of teenagers were wading in the waterat the top and I couldn't help but picture  how horrifying it would be if one of them slipped.

This is the view from the lookout. We heard a girl talking about how the last time she had visited there were people at the bottom, so obviously we had to go exploring. 
To get to the bottom we hiked down this steep cliff, but luckily were not the first to do it, as there are ropes to help you get there. Climbing back up is the hard part. By the time I got to the top I was out of breath, and my leg muscles were definitely sore the next day.


VOMD took these pictures for scale. The falls are actually pretty damn tall. You feel like you're in Rivendale when you're standing in the gorge. It's so beautiful. (Yes, I'm a huge nerd.)


 My insanely handsome VOMD and I, resting before hiking back up the cliff. (VOMD just cut his beard off, and I'm very sad about it. it was so epic. He assures  me it will only take a month or two to get back  to its previous awesomeness.)

Saturday night we went to The Sound of Music Festival in Burlington. The festival ran for a week, and the weekend prior bands like  OLP  and Weezer played ticketed shows so that this past weekend could be free! So, we saw David Wilcox play for free! Damn this dude can still rip. He played "Bad Apple" and "Riverboat Fantasy" and almost everyone in the crown was singing along. We were pretty close to the stage, but all of these pictures (the above  included) were taken with our phones, so the quality sucks.

Sunday we went hiking at Tiffany Falls, but that was a bit of an ordeal  and I ended up sliding down a bit of a cliff and badly bruising my ankle. No permanent damage was done, but I don't have any photos to share from the event, unless you  want to see a picture of my gross, swollen ankle.

In spite of this, all in all, our free adventure-ful weekend was a complete success! We  topped it off with Sweets from the Earth Cheese Cake (mmmm, Canadian Made vegan cheese cake!) and Coconut  Bliss Ice Cream.

Happy Tuesday!

-J

Monday, June 22, 2015

Monday Happies

I hate complaining about my life. I often feel like my problems are completely trivial compared to the problems of so many other people in the world, so worrying about my crap, and stressing over my little problems feels, well, kind of stupid. But then when I listen to my mother - raise your hands if you have the best mom in the world (you  can't...because I do) - or my friend talk about their problems, I don't think that they are trivial, even if they are the same things that I feel silly worrying about. Isn't that strange?

Anyway, I try to pay attention, as much as possible,  to the great things in my life, like my awesome boyfriend VOMD, my family, and my animal friends. 

So, here are just some happies that made me happy recently.

True love<3

Princess George likes to pose for pictures.  

Long walks on overcast days. The weather has been all over the place lately, but I never
miss a chance to go outside. ...for all you who say Hamilton is too industrial...riiiiggghhht. 

 VOMD went to The Cannon on Ottawa and Connon here in Hamilton a couple of weeks ago. They have vegan waffle battler and make these unreal sandwiches with waffles instead of bread. OH MY GOD are they good.  We both ordered the 'Merican sandwich vegan style (ie. no cheese with vegan waffles).
VOMD is insanely handsome.

Pretty, I know. 
So, even though I'm stressed about a whole bunch of little things, I also have a whole lot of little things to be incredibly happy about.

Happy Monday! 

-J

Friday, June 19, 2015

Responses to Questions from Non-Vegans

As a vegan you get asked so many questions about your lifestyle. Some are genuine. Some serious, some way too invasive, and others are just plain stupid.

Inspired by my sister's sassy, sarcastic, and mostly just smart responses to stupid comments from non-vegans (read it here!), I have decided to share some from my own experience.

Q:  How do you live off of just vegetables?

A: I know it's  super confusing that the words vegetarian and vegan have the same root word as vegetable, but  this does not  mean that all I do  is eat carrots and celery all day. I eat a well-balanced  diet full of vegetables, fruits, seeds, nuts, beans, grains, herbs, and more.

Q: Why is all vegan food so weird?

A: I have literally seen meat eaters consume pig ears, deep friend pig skin, intestines (sausages anyone?), blood pudding, and fish ovum. Yuck. So, I'm sorry if my faux meat made of wheat protein and blended chickpeas sounds "weird" to you.

Q:  Is that why you're so skinny? (yeah, stole this one...but c'mon)

A: First, my BMI is in the healthy range and I have had the same body type since I was 17 years old when my ass started filling out and my boobs stopped growing. Second, I am not even a little bit skinny. My hip measurement is 41 inches. If your ass were as big as mine the last thing you would refer to yourself as would be skinny.  Not being overweight like the average Westerner does not mean I'm skinny. It means I'm at a significantly reduced risk for diabetes and heart disease.

Q: Why don't you stop eating plants too?  Their technically alive, aren't they?

A: Yes, they are alive. But when you show me a plant that cries when you take it's babies away, who run from its assailants, and who bleeds when you shoot it with one of those shitty but apparently 'humane' nail guns that are used to slaughter cows, then I promise I won't eat that plant, okay?

Q:  Isn't it hard to not eat meat?

A: Is it hard for you to not jump off a bridge!? But seriously, is it hard for you to not eat your couch? It is super difficult for you to stop yourself from going to town on that delicious, scrumptious little morsel you leave in your damn toilet bowl every morning? Believe it or not, I don't find animal products remotely appealing. The smell of bacon doesn't make my mouth water; it makes me gag. And watching someone chow down on a bowl of chocolate iced cream, or drinking a glass of whole milk, or slicing up a big chunk of cheese does not make me want to take it from them and shove it into my face. it makes me want to show them pictures of where that shit  came from and watch them try to keep it down when they see the amount of puss and blood that is in every single one of those products. And furthermore, I am not a f*cking child and have developed the tiniest amount of this  thing called self control. It's  the same thing that stops  me from slapping you in the face when you ask me this stupid question. So, even if I did find that crap remotely appealing, I have the presence of mind to not turn into a complete psycho and consume every piece of meat in sight.

Q: So, do you swallow?

A: I hate  you. You're disgusting. Go away.

Q: Do you feed your cat meat?

A: Yes. I DO feed my carnivorous animal companions animal products. Yes, It breaks my  heart. Yes, I gag every single time I open one of those cans of blended, nasty, gooey flesh. No, I don't think this makes me a bad vegan; it makes me a good cat caregiver. If there was a healthy alternative for my animal friends, then I would choose that option instead, but I care about the health of all animals and sadly this requires some sacrifice on my part.

Q: Why are you such a picky eater?

A: I literally am willing to consume every single things on the planet that is actually food. You will NEVER hear me complain about a vegan meal, even if it is made of (gag) eggplant or (gag more) chickpea flour. Animals, like rocks, or babies, or fibreglass, or picture frames, are not food. On the other hand, I know numerous meat eaters who won't eat almost any vegetables, or bread that isn't made  of bleached-beyond-recognition white flour, and who have kids who refuse to eat anything except hot dogs on white buns with ketchup.  Yet, in spite of this,  I'm picky. 


Q: Did you know that chickens lay eggs even if you don't eat them? Isn't  that a waste.

A: I also ovulate regularly, and I've just been flushing  my ovum down the toilet every month. Would you like me to save my periods for you? No? That's not the same thing? Yes it is. Suck a lemon.

Q: Why do you still eat honey if you're a vegan?

A: First, why do you still wear pants if you're a woman? See how shitty it is to be asked stupid, demeaning questions? Second, I only eat locally produced honey from apiaries that are as cruelty free as possible (yes, I have visited the farm from which I buy my honey). I don't, though, eat sugar that is produced using bone char, buy anything made of silk, and I don't wear wool. I'm pretty sure on the scale of completely vegan to psychotic serial animal murderer, I'm closer to vegan. So, forgive me for not specifying that I am completely vegan except  for this one thing that I do that not all vegans agree with. I will also say, that of the vegans I have met since becoming vegan myself in 2011, only about three of 500 refuse  to eat honey; and even those three didn't ask me why I call myself vegan but still eat honey.

Q: I could NEVER be vegan. (OK, this isn't really a question.)

A: First, I really don't care whether or not you could ever be vegan. Did I tell you that you have to be? No. No I did not. (But let's be honest, you should be). Second, yes you really, really could.



That's it (well...not really it but that's all I can bare to share without pulling my hair out).

On another note, here's a super cute picture of my friend Lego. She's kind of amazing, even though she eats everything in sight and hates having her nails cut.



Happy Friday!

-J